Klockwork Klose Strikes Again As Germany Blanks Belgium

Belgium goalkeeper LOGAN DAILLY of German side Borussia Moenchengladbach dives at the feet of Germany World Cup hero MIROSLAV KLOSE (11) of Bundesliga champion Bayern Munich at the Koning Boudewijnstadion in northwest Brussels. (Frank Augstein/AP)

European Championships Qualifying
September 3, 2010

1 – GERMANY ———— Klose 51′

GERMANY took full advantage of a blunder by BELGIUM deep in its own end early in the second half to win 1-0 away in Brussels and start its campaign with full points in the Group A qualification game for the 2012 European Championships.

In the tightly-contested match with chances at a premium, Belgium defender DANIEL VAN BUYTEN of German champion Bayern Munich was stripped of possession at the top of his own area by Bundesliga teammate, Germany midfielder BASTIEN SCHWEINSTEIGER.

The ball fell for another Bayern Munich player, der neue Bomber, THOMAS MUELLER, who immediately put ageless club teammate MIROSLAV KLOSE in alone with Belgium goalkeeper LOGAN DAILLY of Bundesliga side Borussia Moenchengladbach; the 32-year-old Polish-born striker cooly deposited the ball into the back of the net for his 53rd career goal for Germany on his 102nd appearance.

Schalke 04 Gelsenkirchen goalkeeper MANUEL NEUER reaffirmed his status as Germany’s first choice with five saves, including a pair of stops of shots by Belgium’s 17-year-old phenom, ROMELU LUKAKU of RSC Anderlecht.



gk — LOGAN DAILLY (Borussia Moenchengladbach – Ger)

df — TOBY ALDERWEIRELD (Ajax Amsterdam – Hol), DANIEL VAN BUYTEN (Bayern Munich), VINCENT KOMPANY (Manchester City – Eng), THOMAS VERMAELEN (Arsenal – Eng)

dmf — TIMMY SIMONS (1.FC Nuremberg – Ger)

amf — MOUSSA DEMBELE (Fulham Athletic – Eng), MAROUANE FELLAINI (Everton – Eng), JAN VERTONGHEN (Ajax Amsterdam – Hol), EDEN HAZARD (OSC Lille – Fra)

fw — ROMELU LUKAKU (RSC Anderlecht)

fw — CHRISTIAN BENTEKE (Royal Standard Liege) for Lukaku — 73rd min
fw — STEVEN DEFOUR (Royal Standard Liege) for Hazard — 73rd min
fw — JELLE VOSSEN (KRC Genk) for Simons — 83rd min



gk — MANUEL NEUER (Schalke 04 Gelsenkirchen)

df — PHILIPP LAHM (Bayern Munich), PER MERTESACKER (Werder Bremen), HOLGER BADSTUBER (Bayern Munich), MARCELL JANSEN (SV Hamburg)

dmf — BASTIEN SCHWEINSTEIGER (Bayern Munich), SAMI KHEDIRA (Real Madrid – Spa)

amf — THOMAS MUELLER (Bayern Munich), MESUT OEZIL (Real Madrid – Spa), LUKAS PODOLSKI (FC Koeln)

fw – MIROSLAV KLOSE (Bayern Munich)

df — HEIKO WESTERMANN (SV Hamburg) for Jansen — 46th min
mf — TONI KROOS (Bayern Munich) for Podolski — 70th min
fw — CACAU (Vfb Stuttgart) for Oezil — 88th min


Comments Off on Klockwork Klose Strikes Again As Germany Blanks Belgium

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.